business · Creativity · Money · Self development

if it’s not working what will you try?

IMG_7275.JPG

Since last October I have been working away on a business that speaks to my ethics, morals and interests. Having no business or marketing experience whatsoever but a toolbox of enthusiasm, hyperactivity, a shelf full of self development and business books, an internet connection and an empty purse I decided that now was as good a time as any.

Now I knew there would be ups and downs, a slow start like in a lot of start ups and days I questioned what the actual fuck I was doing…

There were also days where I would punch the air, celebrate with the dog and crack open a bottle of wine.

My little business is not anywhere near to where it needs to go, and there is much for me to do to push it in the direction I need it to go. I change things ALOT, as I read or hear something I adjust, sometimes for the better and sometimes at a big messy loss. Sometimes it is fun and sometimes it is lonely. I pray for a team, but then again, it is not the right time nor the right stage.

My stock photography is homemade as in taken at home and made by me, pictures of my kids being bribed behind the scenes with chocolate and the outtakes are either hysterical or just plain weird. My stock take is small and my budget smaller but instead of talking down about my little ‘project’ I boost it at every opportunity. Not all endeavours are get rich quick schemes, and sometimes we have to admit that we need another income or sideline to stay afloat to stay authentic to a start up that has ethical roots.

aofehum3.jpg

That is ok, just be wary of how you spend your energy on each area and the time allocated, I found it is easy to neglect your main when a new sideline pumps new enthusiasm into you. At times like this review the roots and vision of your main business and schedule separate time to work at each role.

What I am trying to say is this… if you have an idea, just start.

Build your own website learning as you go, take your own shots and be your own personal assistant. Hey, my first ‘customer’ was my mum! It counts, I did not prompt her, so it counts!!

I hope in the next year it can grow into something I initially envisioned but if it doesn’t go the way I planned and I have to change course so be it. Not that I am saying do not take actionable goals, but be realistic and review frequently. Have a positive driven outlook but if something is not working try something new.

IMG_7173

Lastly, just like a blog, when starting don’t overthink it, just begin. Get it out there and do what you can with what you have and the rest may follow.

Have an idea on your mind for business? What have you done this week to bring it to fruition? Do you really need all you are telling yourself you do to just begin?

 

Coming up:

Things that worked and didn’t work in my first 9 months of being a start up.

Why I approached and joined a direct sales company despite my apprehensions.

A list of must reads if you are in the ideas stage of life and business changes.

 

 

One thought on “if it’s not working what will you try?

  1. Starting a business takes time and more patience than many people realize. You will have successes and you will make mistakes. If you’re doing what you love and are not afraid of failing now and then just keep doing what your doing. You will know at some point whether you are moving in be right direction or need to readjust. Follow your instincts and press on..:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

