Creativity · Motherhood · Parenting · Self development

novice GoPro lessons (take 1)

motorcycle-345028_1920

Yesterday we purchased an entry level GoPro! I am rather excited, not only do I take ridiculous amounts of photos of my kids (and dogs!) I will now be in action mode on our travels! I am guessing kids and dogs in the woods overload will be our film set of choice due to the fact it is typically where we always hang out this season of the year but we will try to be creatively varied!

Now without shocking you at my inability to work a two button gadget initially I am happy to say I can just about make a clip and in my short learning curve doing so there are a couple of points in mum life to be aware of…

  1. POSITIONING – put your ass away! Seriously I did not even think about angles and sure I can learn to clip and edit and hopefully add audio but for now turning your back on your camera after switching it on gives a rather unflattering angle I discovered the hard way! Less biscuits for me from now on!

 

2. Never work with children and animals! Trying to get a word in or be heard over a 4 year old fighting for the lead role in your dialogue….just give it up mama. Little kids and pets are way cuter than you anyway.

 

3. You might want to note that the waterproof encasement means that unless you are making a silent movie when testing it out indoors you need to swap the backdoor for the skeleton door to pick up sound! We found this out the hard way and despite me hearing twinkle ‘twinkle little star’ about 30 times a day for the last 3 years I am convinced I lost the sweetest version ever due to not picking up sound on our first test!

gopro-539469_1920.jpg

We cannot wait to get started to video journal our homeschooling journey in particular and I really recommend Lynda.com for some tutorials. The GoPro website has some amazing material on also, very inspiring but I am getting ahead of myself before I have learnt the basics!

Do you have a GoPro? Any rookie tips for me? I hope to start posting on here some of the stuff we get up to once I move past turning the thing off and on. Best get over to YouTube for some help so bye for now.

Angie x

 

One thought on “novice GoPro lessons (take 1)

Leave a Reply

