Crafts · Creativity · Motherhood · Sewing · Uncategorized

Time out

IMG_7747

I have felt a bit overwhelmed this week. I often feel like a plate spinner and find crafts ground me. I’m trying to lose the guilt about giving myself time when the children are at the child minders. It almost feels like I should be working for the full time they are away , as if not doing so would be cheating! Yet cheating who? Them? Work time?

In fact not giving myself time to do things I need to fill my cup IS CHEATING. It is cheating MYSELF.

We cannot be fully present, energised, positive when we neglect our own needs. For years I tried to prove my abilities as a ‘capable’ teenage mother because I just did not realise the importance of self care. Instead I became withdrawn and sunk into a depression. Imagine if we were given the tools to put ourselves first. A checklist to nurture our physical, emotional and spiritual being. A self development programme, a journal to check in frequently, some books and an audio on financial planing! Reality means such a toolbox would never work as one size does not fit all.  That’s why it is so important to know you! Do you! Unapologetically!

Today was just a day, this morning I took some time out, practiced some sewing and read a little. I’m currently reading Daring Greatly, have you read it? I’d love to hear what you think!

I also managed to ‘freestyle’ Melly a simple skirt out of some craft fabric for £2 at The Works, one of my go to places for home education supplies. I only used half the fabric so not bad; a skirt for £1 worth of fabric!  🙂

IMG_7736.JPG

I wanted to practice bias binding. I’m pleased but understand practice makes perfect!

IMG_7737.JPG

As with anything, if you love learning something keep at it. We are so privileged in this age, so much information and resources are accessible that we can achieve most things we set our minds to! It blows my mind!

Angie x

2 thoughts on “Time out

Leave a Reply

